Our People

Board of Directors and Staff
Working together to Preserve the Past • Build the Future

Executive Director Erin D.A. Miranda,
Erin Miranda brings nearly twenty years of non-profit administration and preservation experience to her role as Executive Director of WHALE. From 2004 to 2023 she worked with Preservation Massachusetts, most recently as President and Executive Director.  In addition to overseeing all facets of the organization, she helped build program, such as the Preservation Circuit Riders and Most Endangered Historic Resources program and educational opportunities through the Preservation Conversation series and Action Center resources online. She also advocated for policy and initiatives, particularly the state and federal tax credit programs and their impact on communities and preservation efforts. Erin is eager to bring her statewide experience to focus on New Bedford and WHALE’s mission of fostering historic preservation while utilizing the city’s historic resources.  Erin has served on the Board of Directors of the National Preservation Partners Network, Preservation Action and holds a BS in Historic Preservation from Roger Williams University.  She is a lifelong resident of the SouthCoast where her family has ties to New Bedford and its rich history. 

Office 508-997-1776

Diane Brodeur, General Manager,

has been a key force in the WHALE office since February 2005 handling the membership database, financials, event coordination, volunteers, and day to day operations.  Diane led our major signature fundraising event, the Annual International Wine Festival & Auction.  It attracted over 500 per year and was considered one of the biggest wine festivals within our region.

Office 508-997-1776


Diana Henry

First Vice President
Jeremy DaGold

Second Vice President
Lee Blake

Colleen Trahan

Assistant Treasurer
Danielle N. Poyant

Secretary & Clerk
June Goguen

Asst. Secretary & Clerk
Peter Hawes

Andrew Burnes
Melissa Costa
Michael J. Murray
Corey Pacheco
Laura Parrish
Carl Silva
Ramon Silva
Patricia Thornton
David Wyzenbeek

Tony Souza, Chair
Arthur Bennett
John Bullard
Paul Downey
Peter Hawes
Peter Kavanaugh
Lyn Keith
Tenney Lantz
Thomas Lyons
Michael J. Murray
Daniel Perry
Anthony Sapienza
David Slutz