Waterfront Historic Area LeaguE

Annual Historic Preservation Awards

NOMINATION FORM

(Deadline for nominations – March 14, 2025)

Name of Nominee:			
Address of Nominee:			
City:	State:	Zip:	
Email	Phone		
(If nominee is a property or project organization or individual responsib	•		
Name:			
Organization:			
Address:			
City:	State:	Zip:	
Email:	Phone		
Award Category –see attached desc (check one)	•		

- o Sarah R. Delano Preservation Award
- o Catherine Crapo Bullard Award
- o George C. Perkins President's Award
- o Carol Ann Juneau Volunteer Award
- Christopher "Chip" Gillespie Revitalization Award

Provide a narrative detailing why the person or organization is award worthy. Be sure to cite specific reasons that relate to the award they are being considered for and their impact on preservation, history, culture, heritage, etc. of New Bedford and the surrounding region.

Please provide the following supportive materials

15 - 20 digital photos: If of a person, pictures of them engaging in the work that they are being nominated for and at least one headshot. If of a project or property, before & after pictures, detail images, people working on the site, utilizing the site, etc.

1-2 letters of support, optional

Nominator Information	1:		
Name:			
Address:			
Phone:			
Email:			
Connection to Nomine	e:		

Waterfront Historic Area LeaguE

WHALE's Annual Preservation Awards

Sarah R. Delano Preservation Awards

Awarded annually to individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the rehabilitation, restoration and interpretation of the historic character and environment of Greater New Bedford. Sarah Delano served as the second President of WHALE for 16 years. Her vision set a high standard for WHALE to follow. Her contributions live on in our memory.

Catherine Crapo Bullard Award

Awarded periodically to extraordinary individuals or organizations who have followed their hearts in pursuing nearly impossible preservation projects, Catherine Crapo Bullard was one of WHALE's earliest supporters and was directly responsible for saving the Benjamin Rodman Mansion.

George C. Perkins President's Award

Awarded to an individual or organization whose contributions have made a positive impact on the quality of life in Greater New Bedford. George C. Perkins is one of the founders of WHALE and served as the first president. His mission sustains us.

Carol Ann Juneau Volunteer Award

Awarded in memory of Carol Ann Juneau, WHALE's Membership Director, to an individual or individuals who go above and beyond the call of duty and who donate invaluable products, services and expertise in order to further WHALE's mission and programs.

Christopher "Chip" Gillespie Revitalization Award

This was a new award category first given in 2017 in honor of Chip's memory. Chip was a member of the WHALE board for 15 years and served as president. Chip had a passion for saving and reusing historic buildings.